The Hon Ian Macfarlane MP was sworn in as Minister for Industry and Science on 23 December 2014.

The Hon Ian Macfarlane MP

Experienced Australian businessman and former Telstra CEO David Thodey has been appointed the new Chair of the Board of CSIRO for the next five years.


South Australian businesses will invest in the state’s advanced manufacturing future, with $28.8 million of Government investment under the South Australian round of the Next Generation Manufacturing Investment Programme.

More than $17.6 million will be invested in nine Australian automotive component manufacturers as they move into new industry sectors.

The COAG Energy Council meeting in Perth this week acknowledged that the energy and resources sectors are facing times of unprecedented change, and that it is more important than ever for Ministers to work together to pursue reform that reflects the changing energy market.

Australian Minister for Industry and Science, Ian Macfarlane, and Western Australia Minister for Mines and Petroleum, Bill Marmion, today executed a deed of agreement setting out the proportion of petroleum in the Torosa petroleum pool.

A new $48.4 million research facility is set to play a major role in advancing research for carbon capture and storage (CCS) technology in Australia, by creating stronger links between industry and science.

A $7.3 million project will transform a vital resource for national offshore petroleum exploration and the search for new onshore mineral resources in Western Australia.


Subscribe to RSS - Macfarlane